Yes! I’ve Been Approached!

Posted on

So, I’m in Walgreens yesterday picking up my antibiotics from my dentist appointment. (yep, inflammed gums) I know, gross. No cavities though! So, I’m walking to the front, and I hear..”Excuse me, your hair is so pretty, are you natural?” Normally I just get stares, but to be bluntly asked, well, I must be doing something right!” lol. My response is that I’m almost completely natural, and that I haven’t had a chemical relaxer in 18 months. She then proceeds to remove her scarf, and she says, “Me too, but I cut mine, and I hate I did.” I told her how I chose to just slowly trim mine away because usually that is what happens,women cut their hair short and then hide it! She said she will not be trimming anymore, but will just let the small amount of relaxed hair left slowly grow out. I guess you can say I inspired her? You really don’t have to do a big chop, not quite sure who made up that rule??? So, anyway, I’m suppose to flat iron my hair and trim more relaxer off, but I’m thinking about it…..

4 thoughts on “Yes! I’ve Been Approached!

    rascott said:
    November 30, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    I’ve always been told that relaxed hair and natural hair can’t co-exist in one head, although no reason was ever given. Perhaps this myth is the reason so many women do the “big chop” and then hide their hair until it grows as opposed to transitioning??

    cys2011 responded:
    November 30, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    The problem is one is stronger than the other (new growth vs. relaxed/chemically treated) so most of us don’t know how to care for it so it ends up breaking off. The key is moisture though, and low manipulation. Some people don’t have the time or patience for that, hence “big chopping”. After big chopping though, most people go into shock because they are now like….”Now what?!” If I ever changed my mind about transitioning, I still have hair I can relax and work with.

    1reddiva83 said:
    December 2, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I love your hair and I have stop relaxing mine for the same amount of time, how do you keep it so shiny? Spill the grease ,lol.

      cys2011 responded:
      December 2, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      My hair is always conditioned with an oil before and after I do my twist pincurls. I am currently using the Joico Restorative oil and Aphogee Gloss Therapy. (either one) I don’t use a ton either. I section my hair in fours and apply a dime size amount to each section before pinning. When I take it down, I apply 2 dime size amounts all over. Thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

