Prep for Flat Iron

Posted on Updated on

So, if you have been blogging with me from the beginning, then you know that I consider my wash day as being “pampered”. Well, today I went through my “flat iron prep” routine. Let me explain:

On my co-wash day, I decided to do an egg treatment on my hair for added strength. I learned the hard way last time when I did this treatment on flat ironing day along with the 2-minute reconstructor by Aphogee. You can tell to the touch it was too much protein! So, I decided to seperate the egg treatment and do it before my “full” washday. So, today, having that out the way, I pre-poo’d first with just some cheap conditioner, did my workout and then applied the Dr. Miracle’s Acai hot oil treatment (it’s new). I let that sit in for a while with a plastic cap over my head, and then washed it out with Aphogee Damage Shampoo. Next, the reconstructor by Aphogee, and then I rinsed it out. Next, my deep conditioner. I decided to add pure honey to my Elasta QP SoyOil Deep Condtioner (about 2 tbsps) Honey is a natural moisturizer, and it adds great shine and body. I then sat under the hooded dryer with a plastic cap and waited about 30 to 40 minutes. I then proceeded to rinse out the conditioner, and I used a micofiber turbon to dry my hair. I then prepared my hair for blow drying by doing the following:

1. apply leave ins
2. thouroughly spray hair with Got 2be 425 degree Blow dry Lotion protectant (awesome stuff ladies!!!)
3. section hair into 4 parts and detangle
4. start blow drying in small sections on med. heat
5. when blowdrying is complete, spray on my Chi44 Iron Guard flat iron spray and pin hair back up and let spray dry

All this is done before flat ironing my hair on 410 degrees farenheit. I only do one pass. (rarely do I do two) The blowdrying helps me not have to run the iron through my hair so many times. I will post pics when I am done. I hope it holds up!

2 thoughts on “Prep for Flat Iron

    rascott said:
    March 19, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    The results were beautiful. Your hair was very shiny and straight, from my vantage point in the pew behind you!

      cys2011 responded:
      March 21, 2012 at 6:21 pm

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

