Makeup 101

Posted on

Today I decided to go and meet with a beauty consultant at Macy’s.  Why?  Well, I’m not a makeup guru.  Even though people compliment me on my makeup, I really don’t know what I’m doing.  My skin, as I have said before, is absolutely horrible.  It is also extremly oily.  I needed some clarification on the issue.  It took an hour, and I must say I learned so much.  I am a Fashion Fair and Flori Roberts user.  The problem?  Flori Roberts is almost extinct in my zip code.  Fashion Fair is barely there!  I was walking around and a nice makup artist for Lancome was nice enough to direct me to the small, but professionallly put together Fashion Fair counter in Macy’s.  She told me she would normally just try and sale me her items,(lol) but I was persistant, see, Fashion Fair in my opinion, is professional makeup without the hefty price.  Sure, I passed by MAC, Bobbi Brown, Clinique, and Chanel but…. “no way”.  Now, was I out of my current makeup?  Well, that’s complicated.  See, I found out makeup has a shelf life of 2 years.  The problem?  My makeup is probably over 4 years maybe????  I also found out makeup can grow bacateria and so can the brushes you use to apply it.  Well, I won’t even tell you how old the brushes are.  In a way, I was out of makeup. So, I trashed it all.  I was taught the difference between liquid foundation and souffle.  Liquid is not for me, it has to be used with a concealer.  I need a “full-coverage” make up because I have so many dark spots.  I also got a lesson in which brushes are for what.  I have also been put on a facial regimen.  You know, the kind where you have step 1, then 2, then 3 and so on. I purchased the one-step clarifying cleaner for removing my makeup, the foaming cleanser for washing my face, the toner for balancing dry and oily skin, and then the night time moisturizer. It wasn’t cheap for today’s purchase, but again, I had to restock everything, and I am now going to do a facial regimen.  But future purchases will be much more attractive with fashion fair averaging 20.00 compared to the MAC and Bobbie Brown’s 60 and 80.00!!!  So, here’s to better skin and less breakouts on a budget!!

Leave a Reply

