Spring Cleaning? Well, Something Like That

Posted on

nexxus

I decided the hair hoarding has got to stop. I went through my stash and threw out the almost empty containers (that I keep in case I forget what I purchased). I decided from now on, too much product is not acceptable for me. I need a deep conditioner, shampoo, and a leave in. That’s it. I have a heat protectant for days I flat iron or blow dry. I will use my leave in that I use for after washing for my daily moisturizer. The brand that I have decided to invest my money and time in…………….NEXXUS. See, usually I have a separate conditioner for wash days, then another one for daily moisturizing. No more.

So, being that I am going to try and be faithful to using few products, I figured it may as well be a quality product. I have trimmed my hair again, and it was soooooo worth it. My hair, praise God, is very healthy. It has so much body, the balance between softness and strength is great. I do color my hair, so randomly, I do give myself an ION Treatment for colored hair, but as for two and three brands of shampoo in my stash…no more.

Nexxus is kind of pricey, but that’s my opinion. Some people could think that is a joke considering some items cost over 30.00 per bottle. My deep conditioner is 16.00, I paid 12.50. The split end mender heat protectant, I paid 7.00 but it costs 14.00 I believe. The leave-in runs about 13, but a little goes a long way. That is something else I am having to work on, being so heavy handed with products. For some reason, when it tells us to put a dime size of this or that, we just think it isn’t working! Oh come on, tell the truth…..so we pile on more! Well, follow the directions and watch the product last longer, and your hair will still reap the benefits.

I have also invested in a new flat ironing system. I snagged it during the so called 12 days of xmas sale on Folica.com. It was on sale, and then I had a 20.00 or 25.00 off coupon! (can’t remember which, it was a code) I have not flat ironed my whole head yet, but it is the Sedu 1.5 inch plate flat iron. It was a kit. Comes with gloss serum, heat protectant, heatproof flatiron comb (use for chase-method), heatproof pouch, and a black carrying bag. It can go up to 450 degrees. It looks promising. Can a flat iron help you maintain healthy looking hair? I tested one section of my front, and whoa……the shine, only one pass, you can’t even feel the plates on your hair (no snagging) This was done at 350 degrees! It comes with a 2 year warranty at that. I have got to give myself a break with the curly afro. Too much tangling. I won’t be flat ironing like a mad woman, but when I do, I try to get it salon straight, and I like the fact that I control the temp. of the heat! Here is what I notice when I give myself a proper flat ironing:

1. has body
2. one pass works
3. soft
4. shiny
5. even when I work out, no reversion
6. lasts for days
7. when I wash, my curls just pop back

I am also being faithful to my vitamins, and to trying to drink more water. Pics are results using Nexxus products after todays wash and set…..

nexxus2 nexxusresult

Leave a Reply

